3 building blocks for secure innovation

How VARIO AG used a ransomware attack to achieve a very high level of maturity in IT security with 3 support modules

How do you combine innovation and digitalization with security? How do you create operational space for the efficient implementation of IT security projects?

In this success story from Hendrik Schneider, the authorized representative and successor at VARIO AG, the company reached a very high level of maturity in terms of IT security within a short period of time after a ransomware attack. This was achieved through a three-pronged support approach on our part - and the enormous commitment of Mr. Schneider and his team.

Table of Contents

VARIO AG

VARIO Software AG produces ERP software for SMEs and advises companies in this context. VARIO has been an owner-managed company for 30 years and serves more than 10.000 customers in the DACH region. The son of the founder Ralf Schneider - Hendrik Schneider - has been the authorized representative and successor for the family business since 2021, which now has around 90 employees.

Hendrick Schneider
Authorized representative and successor

Hendrik Schneider is an entrepreneur through and through: He is all about driving digitalization and innovation in the family business. He is very aware of his great responsibility for the company, employees and customers and therefore consistently thinks about the issue of security. Here he is a perfectionist: There is no such thing as “It’s ok, we’re good enough!” with him. Mr. Schneider knows that attackers are constantly upgrading and therefore does not tolerate any standstill when it comes to expanding his own IT security.

The challenges

Mr. Schneider contacted us after VARIO AG fell victim to one Ransomware attack had become. Although the company was able to successfully restore the affected systems itself, it wanted to give the topic of IT security even greater importance after this experience.

Continue reading?

The most pressing questions for Mr. Schneider at this point were: Through which vectors are we vulnerable at our current level? What safety aspects have we perhaps overlooked so far? Do our security measures stand up to an acid test?

An additional challenge was that... Position of IT manager newly filled became. The IT manager was technically very fit, but was just growing into the new role of a team leader.

Our solutions

We ran one at first initial penetration test in order to be able to provide well-founded information on the current level of maturity of IT security. We found some vulnerabilities and security aspects that had not previously been considered.

We initially supported the expansion of cyber resilience Support and knowledge transfer in vulnerability managementin order to free up internal company resources for processing the findings.

A retest already showed enormous progress and a high level of maturity in terms of IT security. In order to be able to implement further projects and optimizations even more efficiently in the future, we added two additional modules to our collaboration:

  1. Building a custom fit ISMS for structured and reliable security management
  2. Regular appointments with IT manager for support and Coaching in the area of ​​team leadership

 

At the same time, we have joint “Hacking evenings“carried out to test new VARIO developments live from the attacker’s perspective and to put security measures to the test.

The result

Retests after the initial penetration test each time showed great progress in VARIO AG's cyber resilience. Through coaching in the area of ​​team leadership and support in the operational area with vulnerability management, development projects in the company were able to be implemented promptly and successfully. New developments in other areas of the company could be secured from the outset under IT security aspects (shift-left approach). The structuring of processes and documentation not only advanced the security of VARIO AG, but also the efficiency of the entire IT.

Start your own success story!
What are your challenges in expanding your IT security?
Schedule a Personal Consultation
More success stories
Time pressure & outsourcing

How do you manage to secure a project reliably under enormous time pressure and an outsourcing rate of over 80% so as not to endanger the parent company?

Table of Contents

3 Bausteine für sichere Innovation

Wie die VARIO AG einen Ransomware-Angriff nutzte, um mit 3 Support-Bausteinen einen sehr hohen Reifegrad in Sachen IT Security zu erreichen

Wie bringt man Innovation und Digitalisierung mit Sicherheit zusammen? Wie schafft man sich operativ Luft für die effiziente Umsetzung von IT Security Projekten?

In dieser Success Story von Hendrik Schneider, dem Prokuristen und Nachfolger bei der VARIO AG, erreicht das Unternehmen nach einem Ransomware-Angriff innerhalb kurzer Zeit einen sehr hohen Reifergad in Sachen IT Security. Dies gelang durch einen dreigleisigen Support-Ansatz unsererseits – und die enorme Einsatzbereitschaft von Herrn Schneider und seinem Team.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

VARIO AG

Die VARIO Software AG stellt ERP-Software für KMU her und berät die Unternehmen in diesem Kontext. VARIO besteht bereits seit 30 Jahren als inhabergeführtes Unternehmen und betreut mehr als 10.000 Kunden in der DACH-Region. Der Sohn des Gründers Ralf Schneider – Hendrik Schneider – ist seit 2021 Prokurist und Nachfolger für das Familienunternehmen mit mittlerweile rund 90 Mitarbeitern.

Hendrick Schneider
Prokurist und Nachfolger

Hendrik Schneider ist Entrepreneur durch und durch: Ihm geht es um das vorantreiben von Digitalisierung und Innovation im Familienunternehmen. Er ist sich seiner großen Verantwortung für Betrieb, Mitarbeiter und Kunden sehr bewusst und denkt daher das Thema Sicherheit konsequent mit. Hier ist er Perfektionist: Ein „Ist ok, wir sind gut genug!“ gibt es bei ihm nicht. Herr Schneider weiß, dass Angreifer kontinuierlich aufrüsten und duldet daher auch beim Ausbau seiner eigenen IT Security keinen Stillstand.

Die Herausforderungen

Herr Schneider kontaktierte uns, nachdem die VARIO AG Opfer eines Ransomware-Angriffs geworden war. Das Unternehmen konnte die betroffenen Systeme zwar selbst wieder erfolgreich herstellen, wollte dem Thema IT Security nach dieser Erfahrung aber einen noch größeren Stellenwert einräumen.

Weiterlesen?

Die drängendsten Fragen für Herrn Schneider waren zu diesem Zeitpunkt: Über welche Vektoren sind wir auf unserem jetzigen Stand angreifbar? Welche Sicherheitsaspekte haben wir bisher vielleicht übersehen? Halten unsere Sicherheitsmaßnahmen einem Härtetest stand?

Eine zusätzliche Herausforderung war, dass die Position des IT-Leiters neu besetzt wurde. Der IT-Leiter war zwar fachlich sehr fit, wuchs aber gerade erst in die neue Rolle eines Team-Leiters hinein.

Unsere Lösungen

Wir führten zunächst einen initialen Penetration Test durch, um fundierte Informationen zum aktuellen Reifegrad der IT Security bereitstellen zu können. Dabei fanden wir einige Schwachstellen und Sicherheitsaspekte, die bisher nicht bedacht worden waren.

Beim Ausbau der Cyber Resilienz unterstützten wir zunächst durch Support und Wissenstransfer beim Schwachstellenmanagement, um unternehmensintern Ressourcen für die Bearbeitung der Findings freizumachen.

Ein Retest zeigte bereits enorme Fortschritte und einen hohen Reifegrad in Sachen IT Security. Um weitere Projekte und Optimierungen künftig noch effizienter umsetzen zu können, ergänzten wir unsere Zusammenarbeit um zwei weitere Bausteine:

  1. Aufbau eines passgenauen ISMS für ein strukturiertes und zuverlässiges Security Management
  2. Regeltermine mit IT-Leiter für Support und Coaching im Bereich Teamführung

 

Parallel dazu haben wir nach Bedarf gemeinsame „Hacking-Abende“ durchgeführt, um neue VARIO-Entwicklungen live aus der Angreifer-Perspektive zu testen und Sicherheitsmaßnahmen auf die Probe zu stellen.

Das Ergebnis

Retests nach dem initialen Penetration Test zeigten jedesmal große Fortschritte in der Cyber Resilienz der VARIO AG. Durch das Coaching im Bereich Teamführung und Unterstützung im operativen Bereich beim Schwachstellenmanagement konnten Entwicklungs-Projekte im Unternehmen zeitnah und erfolgreich umgesetzt werden. Neue Entwicklungen in anderen Bereichen des Unternehmens konnten von Beginn an unter IT Security Aspekten abgesichert werden (Shift-Left-Ansatz). Die Strukturierung von Prozessen und Dokumentation brachte nicht nur die Sicherheit der VARIO AG voran, sondern auch die Effizienz der gesamten IT.

Starten Sie Ihre eigene Success Story!
Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen beim Ausbau Ihrer IT Security?
Persönliche Beratung vereinbaren
Weitere Success Stories
Zeitdruck & Outsourcing

Wie schafft man es, ein Projekt bei enormem Zeitdruck und einer Outsourcing-Rate von über 80% zuverlässig abzusichern, um den Mutterkonzern keinesfalls zu gefährden?

Inhaltsverzeichnis