Secure international production locations

That's why we initially advised this customer against pen testing at multiple locations

Most customers have a pretty clear idea of ​​what they need from us for their information security. Nothing would be easier than simply accepting that and delivering exactly that. However, that is not our approach: at the beginning we carefully check whether the customer's request is really the best way to achieve optimal results.

In this case, it would have been easy for us to carry out and check off the two international pentests we wanted. Would that have made the customer safer? No. In this success story we explain why we decided to take a different path together with the customer and how the company was able to make efficient progress in its cyber resilience as a result.

Table of Contents

Glass manufacturing company (Anonymous)

This company is one of the world's leading suppliers of glasses for the beverage industry. At several international locations, over 450 employees produce glasses designed and refined specifically for brands.

CFO of the company

The company's CFO is responsible for internal IT and cooperation with an external IT service provider.  He therefore understands the importance of the topic of IT security on both a content and management level. Through strategic planning in budgeting, he enables rapid progress in this area.

The challenges

The CFO of the manufacturing company came to us with the desire to subject two production sites to a comprehensive penetration test. The basis was the problem that the current status of IT security was not known.

Continue reading?

The order itself highlighted one of the biggest challenges: the IT for various international locations was not controlled centrally or uniformly. In addition, due to the production, there was an extensive infrastructure overall.

At the organizational level, we also encountered peculiarities: there was an internal IT department, but no dedicated manager. Responsibility lay with the CFO, who also coordinated the collaboration with an external service provider.

The task for us in brief: Tell us where we stand in terms of safety and where we need to make improvements!

Our solutions

In the first planning phase, we sometimes notice that, in our experience, the initial customer request does not represent 100% the optimal solution approach. This was also the case in this case: We first discussed what results we wanted to achieve together by the halfway point of our contract term. Since this was the first pentest, we recommended initially limiting it to one production location. Background to this recommendation: Due to the decentralized control, the local restriction enabled us to start resolving the findings found much faster. This enabled us to run the company more efficiently by quickly minimizing risk.

Following a comprehensive pen test (IT and OT) at the first location, we presented the results in a management presentation in order to create transparency at this level as well. Overall, continuous management reporting to the CFO enabled uncomplicated and targeted adjustments to budgeting in order to be able to implement necessary measures promptly.

To quickly minimize risks, we processed the periodized findings in consulting together with internal IT and the external service provider.

After processing the first pentest, we finally included the second location in a second pentest. We also provide consulting support in resolving the vulnerabilities found.

The result

The internal IT, together with the external service provider, was able to resolve 75% of the findings from the first pentest within a year. This is a very good result, especially given the complex and decentralized infrastructure and the involvement of an external service provider.

We were then able to begin assessing the risks of the international locations in order to raise the overall level of information security to a uniform level.

Start your own success story!
What are your challenges in expanding your IT security?
Schedule a Personal Consultation
More success stories
3 building blocks for secure innovation

How do you combine innovation and digitalization with security? How do you create operational space for the efficient implementation of IT security projects?

Table of Contents

Internationale Produktionsstandorte absichern

Darum rieten wir diesem Kunden zu Beginn von Pentests an mehreren Standorten ab

Die meisten Kunden haben eine recht genaue Vorstellung davon, was sie für ihre Informationssicherheit von uns brauchen. Nichts wäre leichter, als das einfach abzunicken und genau das zu liefern. Das ist jedoch nicht unser Weg: Wir prüfen zu Beginn zunächst genau, ob der Kundenwunsch wirklich der beste Weg für optimale Ergebnisse ist.

In diesem Fall wäre es ein Leichtes für uns gewesen, die zwei gewünschten internationalen Pentests durchzuführen und abzuhaken. Hätte das den Kunden sicherer gemacht? Nein. In dieser Success Story erklären wir, warum wir uns gemeinsam mit dem Kunden für einen anderen Weg entschieden haben und wie das Unternehmen dadurch effizient Fortschritte in seiner Cyber Resilienz verzeichnen konnte.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Fertigungsunternehmen Glas (Anonym)

Dieses Unternehmen zählt zu den weltweit führenden Anbietern von Gläsern für die Getränkeindustrie. An mehreren internationalen Standorten stellen über 450 Mitarbeiter speziell für Brands designte und veredelte Gläser her.

CFO des Unternehmens

Der CFO des Unternehmens ist verantwortlich für die interne IT sowie die Kooperation mit einem externen IT-Dienstleister.  Er versteht daher sowohl auf inhaltlicher als auch auf Management-Ebene die Wichtigkeit des Themas IT Security. Durch strategische Planung in der Budgetierung ermöglicht er schnelle Fortschritte in diesem Bereich.

Die Herausforderungen

Der CFO des Fertigungsunternehmens kam zu uns mit dem Wunsch, zwei Produktionsstandorte einem umfassenden Penetrationstest zu unterziehen. Grundlage war die Problematik, dass der aktuelle Stand in Sachen IT Security nicht bekannt war.

Weiterlesen?

Der Auftrag an sich zeigte bereits eine der größten Herausforderungen auf: Die IT für verschiedene internationale Standorte war nicht zentral oder einheitlich gesteuert. Zudem lag aufgrund der Produktion insgesamt eine umfangreiche Infrastruktur vor.

Auf organisatorischer Ebene trafen wir ebenfalls auf Besonderheiten: Es gab zwar eine interne IT-Abteilung, aber keinen dedizierten Leiter. Die Verantwortung lag beim CFO, der auch die Zusammenarbeit mit einem externen Dienstleister koordinierte.

Der Auftrag an uns in Kürze: Sagt uns, wo wir sicherheitstechnisch stehen und wo wir nachbessern müssen!

Unsere Lösungen

In der ersten Planungsphase stellen wir manchmal fest, dass der initiale Kundenwunsch aus unserer Erfahrung heraus nicht zu 100% den optimalen Lösungsansatz darstellt. So auch in diesem Fall: Wir besprachen zunächst, welche Ergebnisse wir bis zur Hälfte unserer Vertragslaufzeit gemeinsam erreichen wollten. Da es sich um den ersten Pentest handelte, empfahlen wir, diesen zunächst auf einen Produktionsstandort zu beschränken. Hintergrund dieser Empfehlung: Aufgrund der dezentralen Steuerung ermöglichte uns die örtliche Beschränkung einen wesentlich schnelleren Start in die Behebung der gefundenen Findings. So konnten wir das Unternehmen effizienter durch die zügige Risikominimierung führen.

Im Anschluss an einen umfassenden Pentest (IT und OT) am ersten Standort stellten wir die Ergebnisse in einer Management-Präsentation vor, um auch auf dieser Ebene Transparenz zu schaffen. Insgesamt ermöglichte ein kontinuierliches Management-Reporting an den CFO unkomplizierte und zielführende Anpassungen in der Budgetierung, um notwendige Maßnahmen zeitnah umsetzen zu können.

Für eine zügige Risikominimierung bearbeiteten wir die periodisierten Findings im Consulting gemeinsam mit der internen IT und dem externen Dienstleister.

Im Anschluss an die Bearbeitung des ersten Pentests bezogen wir schließlich den zweiten Standort in einem zweiten Pentest ein. Auch unterstützen wir mit Consulting bei der Abstellung der gefundenen Schwachstellen.

Das Ergebnis

Die interne IT konnte gemeinsam mit dem externen Dienstleister innerhalb eines Jahres 75% der Findings aus dem ersten Pentest beheben. Insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der komplexen und dezentralen Infrastruktur sowie der Beteiligung eines externen Dienstleisters ist dies ein sehr gutes Ergebnis.

Anschließend konnten wir mit der Risikobetrachtung der internationalen Standorte beginnen, um das Informationssicherheitsniveau insgesamt auf einen einheitlichen Stand zu heben.

Starten Sie Ihre eigene Success Story!
Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen beim Ausbau Ihrer IT Security?
Persönliche Beratung vereinbaren
Weitere Success Stories
3 Bausteine für sichere Innovation

Wie bringt man Innovation und Digitalisierung mit Sicherheit zusammen? Wie schafft man sich operativ Luft für die effiziente Umsetzung von IT Security Projekten?

Inhaltsverzeichnis