IT security as a driver of innovation

How an IT department developed pragmatic solutions on its own without expensive external products

A special feature of this company: The internal IT department does not buy solutions “off the shelf”, but prefers to program them itself. This offered us an extraordinary treasure trove of creative solutions in consulting. The department, in turn, benefited enormously from our support in setting up processes and structures in order to translate this creative and technical strength into results more efficiently in the future.

In this success story we show how a company benefits from sensible consulting at all levels - not just when it comes to security.

Table of Contents

ml&s manufacturing logistics and services GmbH & Co. KG

The full-service provider for the electronics industry accompanies products from the layout of printed circuit boards through the configuration of entire systems to worldwide shipping and after-sales service.

Oliver Reimer
Head of IT 

Oliver Reimer heads IT at ml&s and in this role attaches enormous importance to professionally organized, reliable security management. He relies on knowledge transfer through external experts and creative solutions.

The challenges

As a manufacturing company, ml&s was confronted with the typical challenges that a production site brings with it in terms of information security: a heterogeneous network with sensitive systems and uncertainty about the status quo of IT security.

Continue reading?

In this case, there were further challenges on a different level, but they soon turned out to be a stroke of luck in finding a solution. The entire IT department consisted of full-blooded “techies” who were heavily involved in the operational business and preferred to build all the solutions individually themselves. However, topics such as IT processes and organization, which are essential for the success of such a department, were challenging.

Our solutions

We first carried out a comprehensive penetration test to make the highest risks transparent and to be able to quickly start risk minimization.

During the subsequent consulting session, we met regularly with the IT manager and members of the IT team. We used these meetings to jointly design pragmatic solutions to current problems. This enabled us to combine the team's exceptional technical strength and “joy to play” with our support in terms of organization and management.

We trained the IT administrators to become junior penetration testers in certificate courses in order to expand their internal competencies in vulnerability management.

After working together on the most important findings from the first pentest, we established regular retests to validate progress and include possible new vulnerabilities in the optimization process.

The initial focus was on minimizing risk in IT. The second step was to align the OT to the same security standard.

The result

In the course of our collaboration so far, Mr. Reimer and his IT department for ml&s have achieved a very high level of maturity in information security.

The continuous transfer of knowledge on special topics of IT security and skills in the process and management organization made Mr. Reimer and his team extremely capable of acting and independent in further optimization.

By cleverly using the technical strengths of its employees, ml&s was able to solve problems pragmatically without purchasing expensive external products.

Start your own success story!
What are your challenges in expanding your IT security?
Schedule a Personal Consultation
More success stories
3 building blocks for secure innovation

How do you combine innovation and digitalization with security? How do you create operational space for the efficient implementation of IT security projects?

Table of Contents

IT Security als Innovationstreiber

Wie eine IT-Abteilung ohne teure externe Produkte selbst pragmatische Lösungen entwickelte

Eine Besonderheit bei diesem Unternehmen: Die interne IT-Abteilung kauft keine Lösungen „von der Stange“, sondern programmiert diese am liebsten selbst. Dies bot uns im Consulting einen außergewöhnlichen Schatz an kreativen Lösungsfindungen. Die Abteilung wiederum profitierte enorm von unser Unterstützung im Aufbau von Prozessen und Strukturen, um diese kreative und fachliche Stärke künftig effizienter in Ergebnisse umzusetzen.

In dieser Success Story zeigen wir, wie ein Unternehmen auf allen Ebenen – nicht nur in Sachen Sicherheit – von sinnvollem Consulting profitiert.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

ml&s manufacturing logistics and services GmbH & Co. KG

Der Komplett-Dienstleister für die Elektronikbranche begleitet Produkte vom Layout von Flachbaugruppen über die Konfiguration ganzer Systeme bis hin zum weltweiten Versand und After-Sales-Service.

Oliver Reimer
Leiter der IT 

Oliver Reimer leitet die IT bei ml&s und legt in dieser Rolle enormen Wert auf ein professionell organisiertes, zuverlässiges Security Management. Dabei setzt er auf Wissenstransfer durch externe Experten und kreative Lösungsansätze.

Die Herausforderungen

Als Fertigungsunternehmen war ml&s mit den typischen Herausforderungen konfrontiert, die ein Produktionsstandort in Sachen Informationssicherheit mit sich bringt: einem heterogenen Netzwerk mit sensiblen Systemen und Unklarheit über den Status Quo der IT Sicherheit.

Weiterlesen?

In diesem Fall lagen auf einer anderen Ebene weitere Herausforderungen vor, die sich jedoch bald gleichzeitig als Glücksfall für die Lösungsfindung entpuppten. Die gesamte IT-Abteilung bestand aus Vollblut-„Techies“, die stark im operativen Geschäft involviert waren und am liebsten alle Lösungen individuell selbst bauen. Herausfordernd waren jedoch Themen wie IT-Prozesse und -Organisation, die für den Erfolg einer solchen Abteilung unabdingbar sind.

Unsere Lösungen

Wir führten zunächst einen umfassenden Penetrationstest durch, um die höchsten Risiken transparent zu machen und schnell in die Risikominimierung starten zu können.

Im anschließenden Consulting trafen wir uns in regelmäßigen Terminen mit dem IT-Leiter und Mitgliedern des IT-Teams. Diese Treffen nutzten wir, um für aktuell zu bearbeitende Probleme gemeinsam pragmatische Lösungsansätze zu entwerfen. So konnten wir die außergewöhnliche fachliche Stärke und „Spielfreude“ des Teams mit unserem Support in Sachen Organisation und Management kombinieren.

Die IT-Administratoren bildeten wir in Zertifikatslehrgängen zu Junior Penetration Testern weiter, um die internen Kompetenzen im Schwachstellenmanagement auszubauen.

Nach der gemeinsamen Bearbeitung der wichtigsten Findings aus dem ersten Pentest etablierten wir regelmäßige Retests, um Fortschritte zu validieren und mögliche neue Schwachstellen in den Optimierungsprozess einzubeziehen.

Der Fokus lag zunächst auf der Risikominimierung in der IT. Im zweiten Schritt ging es um die Angleichung der OT auf denselben Sicherheitsstandard.

Das Ergebnis

Im Verlauf unserer bisherigen Zusammenarbeit erreichte Herr Reimer mit seiner IT-Abteilung für ml&s einen sehr hohen Reifegrad in der Informationssicherheit.

Der kontinuierliche Wissenstransfer zu speziellen Themen der IT Sicherheit und Kompetenzen in der Prozess- und Management-Organisation machte Herrn Reimer und sein Team extrem handlungsfähig und unabhängig in der weiteren Optimierung.

Durch den geschickten Einsatz der fachlichen Stärke der Mitarbeiter konnte ml&s Probleme ohne den Einkauf teurer externer Produkte pragmatisch lösen.

Starten Sie Ihre eigene Success Story!
Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen beim Ausbau Ihrer IT Security?
Persönliche Beratung vereinbaren
Weitere Success Stories
3 Bausteine für sichere Innovation

Wie bringt man Innovation und Digitalisierung mit Sicherheit zusammen? Wie schafft man sich operativ Luft für die effiziente Umsetzung von IT Security Projekten?

Inhaltsverzeichnis