Raise OT security to IT level

An IT project manager solved a seemingly insoluble problem and was promoted to head of IT security.

Most manufacturing companies will be familiar with this problem: OT is nowhere near as easy to optimize as IT when it comes to IT security.

In this success story by Kevin Naujokat, originally IT project manager of the WEIG Group, we show a feasible and successful solution to this problem. We also show how those responsible can significantly advance and professionalize IT security in their company with our support.

Table of Contents

WEIG group

The WEIG Group serves the recycling, cardboard and packaging business units in an efficient circular system with a clear commitment to sustainability and resource conservation. The group employs around 1.800 people at several national and international locations.

kevin-naujokat.1024x1024 copy

Kevin Naujokat
Head of IT Security department

As head of the IT Security department at the WEIG Group, Kevin Naujokat is committed to expanding cyber resilience.

The challenges

When Kevin Naujokat first contacted us, he was not yet head of the IT Security department - because this department simply did not exist yet. Nevertheless, the group's IT department was generally very well positioned in terms of personnel and expertise. It was important to firmly establish IT security in the overall IT context.

Mr. Naujakat came to us specifically with the following challenges: The regulatory requirements to the KRITIS operator required an efficient expansion of IT security. For this to happen, the first thing you had to do was Status Quo be identified in this area. Our task was to comprehensively examine the extensive infrastructure with many locations, services, systems and production sites.

An internal challenge was: Align the security standard of OT with that of IT. The operational characteristics of OT and a smaller staffing made many common measures impossible. Many departments would have given up at this point and checked off the optimization of OT security as impossible. However, with our support, Kevin Naujokat found a workable solution for this too.

In the course of our collaboration we also found a... M&A process took place, which required a review and optimization of IT security.

Our solutions

A pair of extensive initial penetration test revealed weak points that the WEIG Group's IT initially worked on independently. Many of the findings were made possible through consistent mains separation be resolved.

In order to further expand IT security more efficiently, we supported Mr. Naujokat and his team after the first retest with advice and ongoing support. For building a custom-fit ISMS we established a common one Regular appointment structure.

We met the challenges of OT in 3 steps:

  1. Penetration test of the OT environment (a step that unfortunately very few manufacturing companies dare to take)
  2. Workshop to develop necessary measures with the IT department in order to relieve the OT staff, which is understaffed
  3. Continuous implementation of the measures by the OT at appropriate maintenance times

 

In M&A processes We were involved at an early stage to ensure that the level of security achieved was maintained.

The result

The extensive initial penetration test made the highest risks transparent and enabled an efficient start to risk minimization.

The joint planning and implementation of risk minimization led to an increase in the IT security maturity level to a very high level appropriate to the KRITIS status - including the OT environment.

The integration into M&A processes ensured the maintenance of a group-wide security standard.

Continuous penetration tests (IT and OT, also international) enabled updated risk assessments.

Start your own success story!
What are your challenges in expanding your IT security?
Schedule a Personal Consultation

Bonus

Transparent reporting on the progress towards management resulted in the Establishment of a dedicated IT security department. Kevin Naujokat moved from IT project manager to head of this new department promoted.

Continue reading?

More success stories
3 building blocks for secure innovation

How do you combine innovation and digitalization with security? How do you create operational space for the efficient implementation of IT security projects?

Table of Contents

OT-Sicherheit auf IT-Niveau anheben

So löste ein IT-Projektleiter ein scheinbar unlösbares Problem und wurde zum Abteilungsleiter IT Security befördert.

Dieses Problem werden die meisten Fertigungsunternehmen kennen: Die OT ist hinsichtlich IT Security bei Weitem nicht so einfach zu optimieren wie die IT.

In dieser Success Story von Kevin Naujokat, ursprünglich IT-Projektleiter der WEIG Gruppe, zeigen wir einen umsetzbaren und erfolgreichen Lösungsansatz für dieses Problem. Außerdem zeigen wir, wie Verantwortliche mit unserer Unterstützung die IT Security in Ihrem Unternehmen maßgeblich vorantreiben und professionalisieren können.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

WEIG Gruppe

Die WEIG-Gruppe bedient in einem effizienten Kreislaufsystem die Geschäftseinheiten Recycling, Karton und Packaging mit einem klaren Engagement für Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcenschonung. Die Gruppe beschäftigt rund 1.800 Mitarbeiter an mehreren nationalen und internationalen Standorten.

kevin-naujokat.1024x1024 Kopie

Kevin Naujokat
Abteilungsleiter IT Security

Kevin Naujokat setzt sich als Abteilungsleiter IT Security bei der WEIG-Gruppe für den Ausbau der Cyber Resilienz ein.

Die Herausforderungen

Als Kevin Naujokat zum ersten Mal Kontakt zu uns aufnahm, war er noch nicht Leiter der Abteilung IT Security – weil es diese Abteilung schlicht noch nicht gab. Dennoch war die IT-Abteilung der Gruppe personell und fachlich grundsätzlich sehr gut aufgestellt. Es galt, IT Security fest im Gesamtkontext IT zu etablieren.

Herr Naujakat kam konkret mit folgenden Herausforderungen zu uns: Die regulatorischen Anforderungen an den KRITIS-Betreiber erforderten einen effizienten Ausbau der IT Security. Hierfür musste zunächst der Status Quo in diesem Bereich ermittelt werden. Unser Auftrag war es, die umfangreiche Infrastruktur mit vielen Standorten, Services, Systemen und Produktionsstandorten umfassend zu prüfen.

Eine interne Herausforderung bestand darin, den Sicherheitsstandard der OT an den der IT anzugleichen. Die operativen Besonderheiten der OT und eine geringere personelle Besetzung machten viele gängige Maßnahmen unmöglich. Viele Abteilungen hätten an dieser Stelle resigniert und die Optimierung der OT-Security als unmöglich abgehakt. Kevin Naujokat fand jedoch mit unserer Unterstützung auch hierfür eine umsetzbare Lösung.

Im Verlauf unserer Zusammenarbeit fand außerdem ein M&A-Prozess statt, der eine Überprüfung und Optimierung bezüglich der IT Sicherheit erforderte.

Unsere Lösungen

Ein umfangreicher initialer Penetration Test offenbarte Schwachstellen, an denen die IT der WEIG Gruppe zunächst eigenständig arbeitete. Viele der Findings konnten durch eine konsequente Netztrennung behoben werden.

Um den weiteren Ausbau der IT Security effizienter voranzutreiben, unterstützten wir Herrn Naujokat und sein Team nach dem ersten Retest durch Beratung und kontinuierlichen Support. Für den Aufbau eines passgenauen ISMS etablierten wir eine gemeinsame Regeltermin-Struktur.

Den Herausforderungen der OT begegneten wir in 3 Schritten:

  1. Penetration Test der OT Umgebung (ein Schritt, den leider die wenigsten Fertigungsunternehmen wagen)
  2. Workshop zur Erarbeitung erforderlicher Maßnahmen mit der IT-Abteilung, um die personell schwächer besetzte OT zu entlasten
  3. Kontinuierliche Umsetzung der Maßnahmen durch die OT zu geeigneten Wartungszeitpunkten

 

In M&A Prozesse wurden wir frühzeitig eingebunden, um die Aufrechterhaltung des erreichten Sicherheitsniveaus sicherzustellen.

Das Ergebnis

Der umfangreicher initiale Penetrationstest machte die höchsten Risiken transparent und ermöglichte einen effizienten Einstieg in die Risikominimierung.

Die gemeinsame Planung und Umsetzung der Risikominimierungen führte zu einer Anhebung des IT Security Reifegrads auf ein sehr hohes und dem KRITIS-Status angemessenes Niveau – einschließlich der OT Umgebung.

Die Einbindung in M&A Prozesse gewährleistete die Aufrechterhaltung eines Gruppen-weiten Sicherheitsstandards.

Kontinuierliche Penetration Tests (IT und OT, auch international) ermöglichten aktualisierte Risikobewertungen.

Starten Sie Ihre eigene Success Story!
Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen beim Ausbau Ihrer IT Security?
Persönliche Beratung vereinbaren

Bonus

Transparentes Reporting zu den Fortschritten in Richtung Management mündete im Aufbau einer dezidierten IT Security Abteilung. Kevin Naujokat wurde vom IT-Projektleiter zum Leiter dieser neuen Abteilung befördert.

Weiterlesen?

Weitere Success Stories
3 Bausteine für sichere Innovation

Wie bringt man Innovation und Digitalisierung mit Sicherheit zusammen? Wie schafft man sich operativ Luft für die effiziente Umsetzung von IT Security Projekten?

Inhaltsverzeichnis