This is how quickly results can be achieved when IT security is a top priority

How regular appointments enable the findings to be processed quickly by an external service provider

If an employee's data ends up on the dark web, two things are crucial. First: checking the systems for indicators of compromise. Second: quickly resolving existing vulnerabilities to minimize the risk of compromise.

As managing director of Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH, Mr. Cirener achieved both by commissioning us, in addition to a forensic analysis, to provide consulting for the efficient closure of vulnerabilities. In this success story we describe exactly how we did this and why Mr. Cirener was able to gain an important employee as a result.

Table of Contents

Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH

Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH is a company with 77 years of experience in mobility combined with emotionality and sustainability. The full-service provider to the automotive industry covers everything from workshops to leasing to vehicle construction.

fritz-cirener.1024x1024 copy

Fritz Cirener
Executive Partner

Mr. Cirener has been managing director of Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH for over four years. What sets him apart is that he knows the importance of IT security in a modern company and uses his position to initiate and pragmatically implement optimizations in this area.

The challenges

The basis for this success story was a letter: Mr. Cirener received official information that an employee's data had emerged in a leak. The very acute question for us was: Can we find Indicators of Compromise (IoCs) in the network? Has the published data been exploited?

Continue reading?

The resulting second question was: How well are we generally protected from cyber attacks in such and other scenarios?

For the second question in particular, we were able to build on a pen test that we had previously carried out for Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH. The company had previously processed the findings from this assessment independently. Due to the new explosiveness of the topic for the company, the desire arose to receive support in order to quickly minimize the risks.

One challenge was that Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH had completely outsourced its IT to an external service provider at this point.

The credo of the assignment to us was: Find pragmatic solutions with us that we can implement quickly.

Our solutions

We first conducted a forensic analysis to thoroughly check all systems for indicators of compromise. We found no signs of compromise, so we were able to immediately start eliminating vulnerabilities.

In the solution strategy for risk minimization, we worked in parallel on two levels:

In regular meetings with the external service provider, we prioritized the findings and supported them in resolving them through knowledge transfer and project management.

In monthly status meetings with Mr. Cirener, we provided information about progress and blockages in order to facilitate communication between specialist service providers and management and, if necessary, to be able to obtain additional resources for IT in a timely manner.

The result

The regular deadline structure put a certain amount of pressure on the IT service provider in a positive sense, so that all the findings from the first pentest could be resolved within a year (including the independent processing time at the beginning).

Mr. Cirener commissioned a retest to validate the results and provide a basis for further optimization. For him, the topic of IT security is now an integral part of his corporate strategy.

Start your own success story!
What are your challenges in expanding your IT security?
Schedule a Personal Consultation

Bonus

The employee of the external IT service provider who was responsible for supporting Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH is now permanently employed by the company. This means that projects can be implemented more efficiently and the company benefits more sustainably from the knowledge transfer through ProSec.

More success stories
3 building blocks for secure innovation

How do you combine innovation and digitalization with security? How do you create operational space for the efficient implementation of IT security projects?

Table of Contents

So schnell erzielt man Ergebnisse, wenn IT Security Chefsache ist

Wie Regeltermine eine zügige Bearbeitung der Findings durch einen externen Dienstleister ermöglichen

Wenn Daten eines Mitarbeiters im Darknet landen, sind zwei Dinge entscheidend. Erstens: die Überprüfung der Systeme auf Indicators of Compromise. Zweitens: Die zügige Behebung vorhandener Schwachstellen, um das Risiko eine Kompromittierung zu minimieren.

Herr Cirener hat als Geschäftsführer der Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH beides erreicht, indem er uns neben einer forensischen Analyse mit Consulting für die effiziente Schließung von Schwachstellen beauftragt hat. Wie genau wir dabei vorgegangen sind und warum Herr Cirener dadurch einen wichtigen Mitarbeiter hinzugewinnen konnte, beschreiben wir in dieser Success Story.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH

Die Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH ist ein Unternehmen mit 77 Jahren Erfahrung in der Mobilität in Verbindung mit Emotionalität und Nachhaltigkeit. Der Full-Service-Anbieter der Automobilbranche deckt von Werkstätten über Leasing bis hin zum Fahrzeugbau alles ab.

fritz-cirener.1024x1024 Kopie

Fritz Cirener
Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

Herr Cirener ist seit über vier Jahren Geschäftsführer der Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH. Ihn zeichnet aus, dass er um die Wichtigkeit von IT Security in einem modernen Unternehmen weiß und seine Position nutzt, um Optimierungen in diesem Bereich anzustoßen und pragmatisch umzusetzen.

Die Herausforderungen

Grundlage für diese Erfolgsstory war ein Brief: Herr Cirener erhielt von offizieller Stelle die Information, dass Daten eines Mitarbeiters bei einem Leak aufgetaucht seien. Die sehr akute Fragestellung an uns war daher: Finden wir Indicators of Compromise (IoCs) im Netzwerk? Wurden die veröffentlichten Daten ausgenutzt?

Weiterlesen?

Die daraus folgende zweite Frage war: Wie gut sind wir allgemein bei einem solchen und anderen Szenarien vor Cyber Angriffen geschützt?

Insbesondere bei der zweiten Frage konnten wir auf einen Pentest aufbauen, den wir zuvor bereits für die Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH durchgeführt hatten. Die Findings aus diesem Assessment hatte das Unternehmen bisher eigenständig bearbeitet. Durch die für das Unternehmen neue Brisanz des Themas kam nun der Wunsch auf, hierbei unterstützt zu werden, um die Risiken zügig zu minimieren.

Eine Herausforderung lag darin, dass die Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH ihre IT zu diesem Zeitpunkt vollständig an einen externen Dienstleister ausgelagert hatte.

Das Credo des Auftrags an uns war: Findet mit uns pragmatische Lösungen, die wir schnell umsetzen können.

Unsere Lösungen

Wir führten zunächst eine forensische Analyse durch, um alle Systeme gründlich auf Indicators of Compromise zu überprüfen. Dabei fanden wir keine Anzeichen für eine Kompromittierung, sodass wir umgehend mit der Abstellung von Schwachstellen starten konnten.

In der Lösungsstrategie für die Risikominimierung arbeiteten wir parallel auf zwei Ebenen:

In Regelterminen mit dem externen Dienstleister priorisierten wir die Findings und unterstützten durch Wissenstransfer und Projektmanagement bei deren Behebung.

In monatlichen Status-Terminen mit Herrn Cirener informierten wir über Fortschritte und Blockaden, um die Kommunikation zwischen Fach-Dienstleister und Geschäftsleitung zu erleichtern und bei Bedarf zeitnah zusätzliche Ressourcen für die IT einholen zu können.

Das Ergebnis

Die Regeltermin-Struktur baute im positiven Sinne ein gewisses Maß an Druck auf den IT-Dienstleister auf, sodass innerhalb eines Jahres (inklusive der eigenständigen Bearbeitungszeit zu Beginn) alle Findings des ersten Pentests behoben werden konnten.

Herr Cirener hat einen Retest beauftragt, um die Ergebnisse zu validieren und eine Grundlage für weitere Optimierungen zu haben. Das Thema IT Security ist für ihn inzwischen integraler Bestandteil seiner Unternehmensstrategie.

Starten Sie Ihre eigene Success Story!
Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen beim Ausbau Ihrer IT Security?
Persönliche Beratung vereinbaren

Bonus

Der Mitarbeiter des externen IT-Dienstleisters, der für die Betreuung der Vogtmann-Herold+Co.GmbH zuständig war, ist inzwischen fest im Unternehmen angestellt. Dadurch können Projekte effizienter umgesetzt werden und das Unternehmen profitiert nachhaltiger vom Wissenstransfer durch ProSec.

Weitere Success Stories
3 Bausteine für sichere Innovation

Wie bringt man Innovation und Digitalisierung mit Sicherheit zusammen? Wie schafft man sich operativ Luft für die effiziente Umsetzung von IT Security Projekten?

Inhaltsverzeichnis